Brussels are fancy, not gross…PROMISE!!

Hello there…ok raise your hand if you don’t like brussels sprouts…..goodness…don’t pull a muscle throwing that hand up so fast! I too am not the biggest fan of the baby cabbages. But I found out that I don’t like them cooked…boiled, soggy, overcooked and stinky. Me no likey that!!! I like fresh, crisp, crunchy and yummy! Then I ran across this recipe (which I think I will enjoy more when I don’t have braces…but it was still a great salad to eat alone..since it was not the most attractive to eat with braces haha).

Brussel Walnut Salad
Raw Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients:
2 lbs of Brussel spouts
1 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped
1 cup diced avocados
1/4 cup nutritional yeast flakes
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil or grapeseed oil
2 tbsp of fresh lemon juice
Salt/Pepper to taste

How to make it magical!
1. Wash the brussels, get rid of the outer leaves that aren’t pretty. Yes it’s ok to get rid of ugly things 🙂 Trim the base and then peel apart the leaves and put into a bowl with avocado.
2. In a separate bowl, put walnuts, nutritional yeast, oil, lemon juice and salt and pepper. Whisk together to make dressing.
3. Toss brussel leaves and avocado leaves in dressing.
4. Eat now! this does not hold. Definitely serve immediately. I make this salad and then went to finish the rest of my dinner and I can back to wilted brussel leaves, brown avocado and a separated dressing which left oily walnuts. trust me…serve it immediately!

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

