I’m Fennel crazy!!!

Every year at the same time, I tend to get on a big fennel kick and I’m kicking hard now!!! If you haven’t tried fennel before…please don’t be afraid…just try it!
Enjoy this recipe, but please be careful using your mandolin to thinly slice the fennel. I sometimes call the mandolin the “finger snipper” since they cut so many people.

Red Grapefruit, Avocado and Fennel Salad

untitled

Ingredients

3 large ruby red grapefruits (I’m lucky and have a coworker that brings me grapefruits in huge bagfulls from their yard!)
1/4 cup macadamia oil (or grape seed oil, if you are on a budget!)
1 tbsp of lime juice
corse sea salt and fresh ground pepper
2 avocados, peeled, pitted and sliced
1 large fennel bulb sliced thinly on a mandolin
fennel
****note when using fennel, yes you can use those frilly green ends in recipes, but I don’t like it…I like to cut that all off and just use the bulb. Experiment with it though. They should taste a little like licorice when fresh
1 small bunch of mint (I currently have orange mint..one of those neato new hybrid mints…in my garden and it’s amazing!)

1. “supreme” the grapefruit….I know I know this is one of those crazy culinary terms. It mainly means you need to peel the grapefruit and then cut the little segments from the fruit membrane. Save any juices that come out! Check out this pic…
supreme
2. In a small bowl whisk together, oil, lime juice and a few tablespoons of the grapefruit juice with salt/pepper.
3. Add sliced avocado into the oil juice mixture and toss gently. Move to larger bowl.
4. Add remaining ingredients and mix it.
5. eat it!!!

Leave a Reply

