Happy Holidays!!!

Hi all!

Sorry I haven’t blogged in a while, and I promise the next blog will be a Yummy recipe and not the mushy stuff that I have been posting recently, hehe! But I did want to take a moment to reflect on the holiday season, which is what we all do. Of course Santa was good to me, but it’s some of the smallest things that mean the most to me.

1. “We have all done ordinary things in life but what you have done is extraordinary”. Hearing these words is the best gift I could have asked for and something I need to remind myself of all the time. Carly used to tell me this outside the gym on days that I was struggling. Days I was facing the harsh realization that my previous world was false and that I was jumping in with both feet into a new life. These words will always stay with me as the best gift I could ever get.

2. Quiet Courage Necklace. Three symbols on this delicate chain, but so perfectly represents some of the challenges I face.

Quiet Courage

 

3. But despite these gorgeous goodies, I have my health and wellbeing and I can truly say that is the best gift of all. I have never felt this way in my life and it’s something new, exciting, scary, and satisfying. Such a mix of emotions and I’m grateful to have special people in my life to share it with!

So I beg all of you to take a moment this holiday season to take one giant step out of the tunnel vision we all get into, and take a huge look around. Recognize the loving people in your life. The people who go unthanked, unnoticed, but are always there for you. Recognize the people who look up to you for guidance and let that motivate you to be a better person. Realize that you look up to people as well, and they deserve thanks and praise.

And realize that the choices you make for yourself affect everyone else that you come in contact with. When you decide to go to the gym with someone to work out, you could be the one thing motivating that person to actually live healthier. When your grandkids see the picture of the “old fat version” of you and don’t like it, let it motivate you to get moving. When you know you aren’t that unhealthy and are better off than other people, realize that you could always be better and go for the extra step (people look up to you!). I guess what I’m trying to stress is that  I’ve learned the hard way to be more grateful for every aspect of my life, and I hope the same for you!

Leave a Reply

