Ugh…food poisoning? but I’m vegan!

Well today I’m home sick from work with the unfortunate situation of food poisoning. Although my meal was vegan, I cannot be positive of the clean cooking atmosphere and guarantee that my vegan was kept to the best quality. UGH what a nice way to remind myself, that our bodies are sensitive entities and that we should treat them right. Sunday night I relaxed with a dinner out with a friend. This dinner has now made me sick for two whole days…..hmmm nice and relaxing right?!?! What I should have done is cooked a nice meal at my house instead and be sure of the wholesome ingredients that put into my body.  I even had a vegan recipe (below) that I wanted to try. This makes me wonder why so many people associate eating out with a good time. Why has society become so centered on eating and food that they are willing to poison their bodies? Everyone has had the unfortunate situation of getting food poisoning, and yet they still eat out. I definitely have mixed emotions about this, since I work and make a living in the food industry. I think it’s amazing that people enjoy great moments in life around food and I will always be the first person to celebrate food. But I can only wish that restaurants would start to provide higher quality food, wholesome plant based meals, and clean substances to their patrons, so that they can only cherish the moment spent with friends and family, but also enjoy their future.

That being said, I’m going to take the rest of this month to NOT eat out and start trying new recipes at myself, which I recommend all of you to do as well. Take control of what you put in your body. Carly Asse and Zen Fitness offers vegan cooking lessons along with their personal training. Believe it or not, cooking vegan is fun and can be easy! I never have a boring meal that tastes like cardboard, which is what most people expect. Once I can stomach food again, this is what I will be cooking:

You guys knows how I like kale!!!

Ingredients:

  • Carrots (shredded): 1/2 of a cup
  • Scallions (chopped): 1/2 of a cup
  • Toasted almonds: 1/2 of a cup
  • Red pepper (diced): 1/2 of a cup
  • Ginger (minced): 2 tsp
  • Toasted sesame seeds: 1/4 of a cup
  • Soy sauce: 2 Tbsp
  • Rice vinegar: 1-2 Tbsp
  • Vegan mayonnaise: 1/4 of a cup
  • Sesame oil: 1/2 of a tsp
  • Nut butter: 1/4 of a cup
  • Kale (stems removed, chopped): 1 bunch
  • Tofu (baked): 1 cup

Directions:

  • Combine the nut butter, soy sauce, vegan mayonnaise,      ginger, rice vinegar, sesame oil, and some water to make a thin dressing.      Use a whisk for best results
  • Mix the remaining ingredients in the large bowl
  • Pour the dressing over the salad, tossing well

 

One comment on “Ugh…food poisoning? but I’m vegan!

  1. Rah says:

    I SO relate. Sometimes we crave the experience of eating out but it never beats home cooking (we are vegan). Today had lunch out with the husband (two salads!) and we have both come down with crippling stomach pains. What the! Not happy!

Leave a Reply

