Media!

Hi all!

I’m getting closer and closer to our goal and I feel amazing! It seems like people are becoming more and more opinionated than ever and with the whole new year resolution times, the media is covering all sorts of health issues. It seems like you can always find a study to support your health claims. It does seem like everything causes cancer and every week there is a new miracle food that will save your life. I have tried to not get too wrapped up in all the studies and the claims that are posted in the media, since I can get sucked into a never-ending media hole that just confuses me.

And speaking of media….I was honored by being interviewed for a feature article in a local newspaper this month, Insight Gainesville. Check out the current issue here:

INsight Magazine

I love that this articles lists my favorite tip that I need to remind myself every once in a while as well….Keep it simple!!! So what if I read an article that said that this food and that food causes cancer or is good for me. I will instead just keep it simple and eat what makes me feel good. Just so happens that what is making me feel the best I have ever felt in my life, is a plant-based vegan diet. Who cares if eggs causes cancer……they make me feel like crap….so I’m not eating them. Roasted kale chips with chili oil and garlic (recipe below!) gives me enough energy to cover miles after a long day at work….so I will eat it again. I never wanted to go for a run after I ate a flank steak and bottle of wine….so I’m not going to eat that again. I simple feel better eating vegan, so I will continue doing so. I can choose to start my day with bacon and eggs, or oatmeal with peaches and almond milk. I feel better and have a more successful day with the oatmeal, so why would I choose the eggs (I didn’t need to know that eggs cause cancer to make that decision…but knowing that I’m not eating something that kills people is like icing on my big vegan cupcake!). So my advice (even though you didn’t ask for it) is that you should just keep it simple…really concentrate on how you feel after you eat something and follow your “gut” instinct.

Now for some fun Media……here is the Zen Fitness final month film. Yes this workout was tough! I’m excited about the last month though!

Final Month Video! While you are at it…look around all of the Zen Fitness videos…these guys are amazing! Zen Fitness

Now onto the recipe that was promised!

Spicy Kale Chips

1 bag of washed and chopped Kale (so much easier that having to stem the kale yourself!

1 teaspoon of olive oil, sesame oil, and chili oil

garlic salt

1. pile kale onto a large baking sheet…pile it up!

2. drizzle oils on kale and sprinkle garlic salt

3. bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes (or until crispy).

4. chow down!!!

Kale Chips!

Kale Chips

 

 

2 comments on “Media!

  1. kim says:

    hallelujah! studies (about anything) can be twisted to say just about whatever a given group wants! i get so tired of hearing about this study or that study…

    diets are kinda like religion. everyone is free to believe what they want. nobody has the final answer on any of it. so there’s no sense in using scare tactics to gain followers. as adults, we are all able to choose what works for us.

  2. Dorothy says:

    Love your blog, Tracy! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

