Happy New Year!!!

As I wake up on this new years morning, I can’t help to look back at where I was last year and also think about what 2012 will bring me as well. ZUZU, the restaurant that I work for, had an amazing New Years Even bash last night, so I got home late (well past my bedtime anyways, early for some!) so this morning I slept in…..till 10am. I think about how I felt last year at this time….hungover and sore from wearing heels and then I met friends for bar-b-que and joked about how the pulled pork soaked up the leftover champagne from the night before. HAHAHAHA!! This morning I woke up thinking about taking a long run today and possible doing some stadiums in the afternoon, my body is not sore even though I was on my feet for 12 hours yesterday, and I am excited about advertising the mocktail that I created last night to celebrate the new year. Here is a picture of the mocktail that I created last night and celebrated the new year with…it’s an all nature citrus ginger blanc with organic blood orange juice! All nature, no artificial sweeteners and is bubbly just like champagne!

Mocktail!
Mocktail!
The big question of the night was “what is your new years resolution?”. Well I have no idea what to say. I think it’s fantastic that people set goals for themselves and it’s even better when they achieve them. Last year I didn’t have a new years resolution. I should have set a weight loss goal, or to work out more, drink less, eat better….any of those. But I didn’t set those goals as new years resolution, even though I started working out 2 hours a day, eating a vegan diet, and lost about 180 lbs.
 
This makes me question why I decided to do all of those changes and why did I not do them for all of those New years resolutions. Well the truth is that I honestly I had no idea what I was missing out on. I thought it was just a way of life to be 345 lbs and not able to climb stairs, eat in booths at restaurants or wear seatbelts in cars. I thought that I just have to take a break and catch my breath after walking through an inclined parking lot, just like someone who lost an arm learns to adapt. I wouldn’t say I was lazy, but I honestly just had no idea how much easier life can be, but after two weeks of eating vegan, I saw a glimpse of what life could be like. I feel silly for missing out on so much just because I didn’t know it could be like this and I’m so thankful for everyone that helped me along the way, especially Carly Asse and Zen Fitness.
 
So this year, do I make a resolution or not!?!? obviously they didn’t work for me in the past. What did work for me was to realize a positive effect of a change I made to my daily life. I ate a plant based diet and immediately felt better so I continued to do it. I realize now that I’m motivated by positive rewards, even though that sounds so greedy. I would love to set a goal to be more active in the community and to give back more. So I concentrate on how good it feels to give back and help others and that will motivate me continue to do it.
 
I would like to challenge everyone out there who set the typical weight loss  new year resolution, to just try eating a vegan diet for 30 days and see how you feel. I’m going to try getting involved in a local charity and see how I feel 🙂
 
Happy New Year!!!
 
3 comments on “Happy New Year!!!

  1. kim says:

    Yay for giving back and helping others! And yay for wearing seatbelts 😉

  2. kim says:

    oh yeah, and “A goal without a plan is just a wish.” –Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Leave a Reply

