Thanksgiving, Shout outs, and a recipe!

I likey lime

I likey lime

First I will apologize for not posted regularly this week….My work schedule has been busy with work and it’s great!!! I love the busy holiday season!  So since my last post there has been a big holiday…Thanksgiving. I had tons to give thanks for this year! I have gained a new chance on life and am extremely grateful for everyday that I don’t have to move around as an obese person anymore. But the most importantly, and the most asked question of the day, is what I ate on Thanksgiving! haha. I did eat more than I normally did, but I did not gain weight and I also was able to complete a 10K and another 10 mile walk during the holiday 🙂 I had some roasted sweet potatoes, brussels sprouts skillet roasted with cranberries, apple and plum bake, strawberry spinach salad and sautéed wild mushrooms (I never liked mushrooms until Pamela Perry’s stuffed mushrooms!! Shout out to Pam!). It was an amazing feast and I felt energized afterwards…..not lathargic and lazy. After completing a 10K with the amazing Joni Florence (shout out to Joni!), I felt confident in my ability to walk a long distance. During my holiday weekend (and after my thanksgiving feast) I went on a long walk through downtown Tampa, along the bay. It was beautiful, the weather was great, and I walked somewhere between 10-13 miles. Thank goodness someone knitted me a “running” hat (shout out to Chelsea!!). During the walk, I had to double back over some of the same tracks and I ran into some of the same folks. I noticed that I was able to stay out doing cardio longer than the other folks that were out that day and I have to admit that it felt good to finally know that I could be good at something having to do with fitness….I felt like I would out walk anyone. In the back of my mind I was wondering if possibly my new-found walking ability was a result of my plant-based diet especially when it compared to my fellow walkers thanksgiving feast…… 🙂

Now onto a request….more recipes! I got a little creative with a recipe recently and it was a success (not all of them end up being something I will eat more than once).

Vegan tacos with Cilantro lime Sauce

Whole wheat taco shells (make sure they are vegan….I bought mine at wards)

1 large spanish onion

1 green pepper

1 red pepper

Cumin, salt and pepper, paprika, red pepper flake

olive oil

1 can of black beans

1 large tomato diced

large bunch of Cilantro

juice of 3 Lime

avocado for topping

1. Saute onion, peppers and seasoning in olive oil until soft.

2. Heat up the can of black beans.

3. Blend up the lime juice, about 3 tablespoons of olive oil and cilantro (I used my Ninja to make dressings).

4. Heat up the tortilla wraps in the oven for a few minutes and then pile all the goodies into it, pour the sauce on top.

5. Eat them and try to not moan in delight…haha they are good!!!

One comment on “Thanksgiving, Shout outs, and a recipe!

  1. kim says:

    we need to get you a garmin!

Leave a Reply

