Isn’t it expensive!?

Food is so pretty!

I get asked if being vegan is expensive all of the time. Throughout this process I have always said that I like to keep things as simple as possible. From simple whole foods, to recipes with 4 ingredients, to a simple every day work out plan that can be done by anyone. So I’m going to attack this question with simply math below:

Old Diet Dinner

1 Bottle of Wine $12 (yes I drank cheap stuff, haha!)

1 Flank steak $14 (this was my favorite cut when cooking for myself and I would eat the whole steak, so no leftovers or anyone else being served)

Imported Gorgonzola Cheese, Heavy Cream and Balsamic for the sauce $4 (just for the serving I was eating that night)

1 potato that would be roasted in seasonings from my cabinet .65 cents (shouldn’t this had been a clue…….. but wait for the big number reveal at the end).

prescriptions to help me sleep, Coffee in the morning to wake my butt up, and a long future ahead of medical treatments that would be needed………possible millions

Total for this dinner ( $30.65 plus millions)

New Diet Dinner (this is what I ate last night)

Mocktail of pineapple juice and sanpelligrino   $1.50 (free refills and I can drive after this one!!)

Spinach Salad with tomatoes and wasabi Green Goddess Dressing (see recipes post)      $2.50 (and I made enough dressing to give to three neighbors that recently decided to try being vegan as well)

Asian Veggie Stir Fry with snap peas, water chestnuts, asparagus, broccoli, peppers, onions with a homemade ponzu sauce (lol don’t get too fancy…it’s orange juice and tamari with some ginger zested in) served over quinoa (about 4 servings were made, I ate two of them, and saved the rest for lunch tomorrow $12)

Stewed Plums with blackberries for dessert (good old crock pot recipe!) $3.50

I haven’t been to the doctor, except for regular check ups, for any health problems since being vegan. If I catch a cold it’s gone within a day or two, and in general I’m healthier. A cut or scrape heals faster, my skin is not as oily, my nails grow faster, you get the idea!

Total cost for this meal and my leftovers $19.50 and this was a 3 course meal with drink.

To cut expenses I support local farmers by 1. going to their farm! Sounds really simple, but yes you can go directly to the farm and buy from them. You don’t have to wait for them to bring the stuff to you. They have what you want…and sometimes you can pull it straight from the ground. I picked tomatoes from a bush behind a farmers house, then placed cash right into his hand that was going to help his little girl fix her bike. I saw how excited she was and right then I realized that local farmers have a huge impact in our society. It’s cheaper to buy seasonally and locally. You pay a lot of money to get an avocado in the middle of December, and it has been assaulted with pesticides, growth hormones, gases to keep it fresh longer and probably picked by someone who was paid barely 1 cent per piece. It’s December have some roasted butternut squash that was grown locally by a farmer that planted the seed for that squash back in April and let it grown naturally. The farmer then will put that money back into your local business and give back to you in turn. Wow, ok sorry guys I did not mean to lecture as much as I did just then 🙂 I will stop.

But as you can see, being vegan is WAY cheaper for me. Plus the money saved on medical expenses!

Until next time 🙂

4 comments on “Isn’t it expensive!?

  1. kshaw21866 says:

    Great post! I love farmer’s markets, but didn’t know you could go directly to the farm. 🙂

  2. mamachandra says:

    This is so great! I love, love, LOVE what you are doing with this blog, for yourself, and for anyone who is smart enough to take note!

  3. kim says:

    “Total for this dinner ( $30.65 plus millions)”
    Ha! Love it!

Leave a Reply

